Daily Archives: October 6, 2013

En Hel special

Yesterday Emil went to Ironbil in the morning and came back to find me apathetic and generally rather bored. We then had a long discussion about how frustrating it is sometimes with everything. Basically, it’s getting annoying for both of us that I have difficulty communicating with people, and getting anywhere, and that I’m cripplingly shy when it comes to meeting people and making friends the first time I meet people. The conversation ended on a good note, but it is getting frustrating sometimes here, but Emil’s agreed to help out with looking up immigration stuff for me and looking at more job stuff.

2012-05-12

Went to a free jazz concert at the Stora Teatern last night, and it wasn’t bad at all. The last two songs were by far my favourite, but that’s because they weren’t as slow as the rest and were a lot more big-band style, and I enjoy that more.

Anyway, afterwards, me and Emil went and got some food from a street vendor: a ‘hel special’ which translates to a whole special. The half special is a Gothenburg delicacy: the local dish of choice. It is basically a hot dog in a bun, with mashed potato. Yes: this is actually a thing. It’s tasty, but really quite random.

Knork

Also, I discovered the existence of Knorks as a result of this. I currently have a plastic knork in my bag as proof, and found a photo on the internet as to the left. Forget Sporks and Foons, Knorks are the in thing!  I was rather tickled by their existence actually.

Anyhow, today ended up being taken over by claiming furniture. We went and collected two billy bookcases, another bookcase-y thing, and a lovely craft table, which is currently being used as a coffee table for Emil. It’s gorgeous though, and I’m looking forward to taking it over as my own little table. Oh! We also now have a kitchen table and kitchen chairs too! Yay!

Ikea Billy bookcase

So, The bookcases are now up, and full of all of Emil’s books and DVDs. I have a grand total of one book on the bookcase, which looks rather pitiful in its little corner. For anyone interested, it’s Phillip Pullman’s His Dark Materials, and happens to be one of my favourite books ever. The flat now looks like a flat though, and the boxes are slowly making their way down to the cellar and out of the way.

All we’re missing are a few lamps and maybe a few rugs and some kitchen curtains, which we shall hopefully get soon.

Whilst we’re on the subject of things I shall be getting soon, I’m hopefully going to be getting my new mobile phone tomorrow. I love the fact that mobile phones don’t seem to be SIM-tied often in Sweden. It’s fantastic, and means that I can use my new mobile with my old British SIM as well as my new one. 🙂

So yes, anyhow, I’ll wrap it up for tonight. A lot of tonight’s post is quite rambly, but that’s because I’ve also been proofreading other people’s books all evening, and my eyes are too tired!

Apologies if any of this doesn’t make sense!