RSS Feed

Still weathering the storm

I thought Cornwall had seen the last of the storms really when I posted last week about them, but blimey – the damage has gotten even worse since! Even in my University town of Reading the weather is causing chaos, as the Thames flooding is worse than I’ve seen in years- if ever! The weather’s even started affecting even further north – Blackpool – where my remaining Aunt lives, is under siege from the weather too now! The beach at Perranporth is down to beachrock, and Portreath beach looks nothing like it used to, according to my sources.

Not only is the weather awful, but my nan on dad’s side is in hospital with a chest infection. She’s been ill for most of the past week and Mum’s spent the whole time at hers diligently looking after her. Hopefully she’ll feel better soon.I’m quite worried, but at the same time glad she’s finally in hospital as she will get better there.

In more swedocentric news, Today has been a very productive day. I finally managed to send off my application for my right of residence for study certificate; I’ve written and submitted a blogpost as a guest blogger for another blog ( based on steampunk – will link when/if it is published) and I have also filled in my postal vote form and had it countersigned by a fellow Brit. Furthermore, I had a delightful conversation with said Brit about Myer-Briggs personality types and social media ( although those were technically two separate yet intertwined conversations – thanks Martin!) All in all, a very good day.

Yesterday was quite interesting as well. We had Renskav with mushrooms for dinner and I made a Kvarg (Quark in the UK) chocolate Mousse as desert. Emil and I both found it hilarious that we were eating moose and reindeer as a theme. Needless to say, Gothenburg isn’t improving the level of our sense of humour much – it’s still as silly as ever.

Anything else? Oh! Emil’s been off work ill today. It looks likely he’ll be off tomorrow too. I’m still planning on getting up early to get things done and to hopefully get to have a bit of time out in the light. Getting up early really does seem to make the difference mood-wise!

 

About Lady Octavia

I'm Charlie I spent a year living in Sweden and I'm now a full time librarian in a primary school in the UK. In my spare time I sew and I bake.

Leave a Reply

