RSS Feed

Det var snabbt!

Yesterday I posted mentioning that I had sent off my registration for my right of residence to Migrationsverket.

As an EU-citizen it’s a lot simpler to organise right of residence than it is for most others: we’re allowed to reside in Sweden for up to 3 months at a time without any papers at all, but if you’re planning to stay longer you have to inform them within 3 months.

If you’re EU and applying for study purposes you have to wait really until you’re in the country to apply (odd I know), and now was the first chance I really have had. It’s been made simpler in the last few months and now the application can be done online. All I had to do was give copies of my passport, my EHIC and my notification of admission to university, as well as filling in all of the usual vitals. Once registered, you have to finish your form within 48 hours or the data disappears and you have to start again. It was made a little harder by the fact that the system was down on Tuesday, however, I managed to put in the last of the data on Wednesday and send it off.  Note that the website is designed for use with internet explorer, and other browsers don’t always work perfectly with it.

This evening i received an email telling me that they had made a decision upon whether I can stay in the country. Well that was quick! Hopefully I should receive a letter telling me what the decision IS pretty quickly. I have to wait for the letter to find out their actual decision, but in theory there is no reason why they won’t give me residence.

As my application was only for a 6 month right of residence for study purposes, I reckon it’s probably considerably simpler than registering for other reasons, but the point still stands: it was incredibly painless and simple: the only things one must remember is to have PDFs of EHIC, passport and your Notification of Admission as well as your details to hand. As long as you have those, it probably only takes a few minutes tops.

Now fingers crossed that the decision is the one I need!

 

About Lady Octavia

I'm Charlie I spent a year living in Sweden and I'm now a full time librarian in a primary school in the UK. In my spare time I sew and I bake.

Leave a Reply

