RSS Feed

Birthdays, Parties and pretty-exhausted Charlies

The last few days have been hectic to say the least.

20140124_094424My birthday was wonderful. I woke up to a cooked breakfast and had a leisurely day, in which I was taken out for coffee at Condeco, after which I returned home and we prepared for my party in the evening. I also opened my cards and presents in bed in the morning, which was quite nice ^^

My party was chaotic, as expected. The steampunks all came and brought me plenty of new types of tea to try as well as some other wonderful gifts, and we spend a happy evening drinking tea, eating cake and playing Dixit: a game involving imagination, word association and general intrigue. It was a lot of fun to play as a large group, and is a game I would seriously consider getting if I start teaching again, as it definitely was a lot of fun. We also tried the mead that Emil and I had made – It finished on Thursday and we decanted it on Thursday night, and tried a taste on Friday. To our pleasure it was exactly as we wanted it. The party has, however, left us with an abundance of leftover cake. I therefore packed Emil off to work this evening with a rather large bag of cakes to take and leave for his co-workers and friends there.

Saturday was also busy as it was Emil’s  cousin’s daughter’s birthday. She was four. We bought her ‘Alice in Wonderland’ as a gift and went along to the party. It was a lot of fun and I had the chance to catch up with Emil’s uncle Martin, who is also British. We get on quite well and it was lovely to have the chance to natter to him again. It was also great to see Emil’s other family members, and to meet Love, the family’s newest arrival, who is certainly very cute even if it slightly disturbed Emil to see me cuddling a baby!

Today was a bit more of a relaxed affair. Whilst Emil went out early to a meeting about steampunk-things, I curled up at my computer and spent an ungodly portion of it playing Guild Wars 2 and delighting in the current Living Story content. It’s much more fun than it ought to be to take part in a massive battle against a twisted marionette which requires something like 125 people as a minimum to defeat.

We went shopping and bought more honey so that we can ready ourselves to begin the next batch as this last batch went so well! Huzzah! At the same time we discovered that our shopping bill seems to have decreased recently, which was certainly nice to see! And to top off the domesticity of the day, I spent the evening cooking up Bolognese to feed to the freezer so that there is pre-prepared food for whenever we desire it.

Tomorrow is also going to be busy, as I not only have to register for my Swedish courses at Uni but I also have lectures, washing and a steampunk meetup to attend. Huzzah again for being busy!

Currently I’m drinking some delicious tea which contains little pink hearts in it. It’s very relaxing. Thank you to Sara, who I believe is responsible for this evening’s tea, having brought it with her on Friday.

 

About Lady Octavia

I'm Charlie I spent a year living in Sweden and I'm now a full time librarian in a primary school in the UK. In my spare time I have an allotment, I sew and I bake.

Leave a Reply

