RSS Feed

Väder i Storbrittanien

I’m still in England – 5 more days before I begin the descent into chaos that is travel.

Travelling to Sweden for me takes the best part of two days, because it’s a 5 hour journey to Reading, where I usually stop off for a meet-up with family and friends before doing the remaining section of the journey the next day ( which is a two hour plane trip, but with the added issue of 1 hour / 30 mins travel each side for buses to and from the airport and security). It’s a lot of travel, and whilst it’s physically possible to do in one day, it’s usually much better to do it n two, as not only does that allow for problems with the trains and connection issues (british trains are notoriously unreliable).

I’ve begun packing. This might seem a bit early to do that but I assure you: it isn’t! I have a HUGE amount of stuff in my room that is supposed to return with me, and nowhere near enough space for it all. Emil has suggested that perhaps I could post the tea and chocolate to myself somehow. I’m reticent to do that as post looks to be a pain in the neck, but hopefully it will be somehow possible.

Anyhow, I was once again SUPPOSED to be discussing the weather here in the UK. As you well know, we’ve had rain, storms and goodness knows what for weeks. Today it’s actually rather beautiful outside. Wonderfully dry, crisp and cold, and with a very very light breeze, just enough to enable the washing to dry properly. Hardly a cloud in the sky. When the sun shines on you ( read: when you aren’t in the shade) it’s actually almost warm. When you’re indoors however, it feels absolutely freezing. It’s genuinely really chilly.

The actual temperature? 10°c. Yep. Not even close to negatives. A full 10°c.

I can honestly state it feels about the same temperature as Sweden did at -7°c when i was out without a coat. I’m not sure how it works, but temperatures are never quite right in the UK. How very odd.

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Lady Octavia

I'm Charlie I spent a year living in Sweden and I'm now a full time librarian in a primary school in the UK. In my spare time I sew and I bake.

Leave a Reply

