RSS Feed

Jag drommer om en jul hemma…

The Swedish version of ‘I’m dreaming of a White Christmas’ is literally called ‘I’m dreaming of a Christmas at home’, as you can see above. I heard this version a LOT when I was out there just before christmas, and I must admit I think I prefer it to the original, or at the very least, find it somehow easier to relate to – perhaps because it has the sense of yearning you get with homesickness.

I’ve started trying to sort out what I need to do upon arrival in Sweden to sort out my Residence Permit and registration at the University. It looks like it may involve a certain amount of Chaos, but Chaos can be good, I’m sure.

Most of this morning I’ve been speaking Swedish over facebook with Emil. Last night we were speaking Swedish on Skype, and he remarked on how he’d forgotten how good I was at Swedish. I *can* do it sometimes – it’s just that I get quite shy about my Swedish! Perhaps I’ll try to write a post in Swedish later and see how it goes. Maybe.

 

About Lady Octavia

I'm Charlie I spent a year living in Sweden and I'm now a full time librarian in a primary school in the UK. In my spare time I have an allotment, I sew and I bake.

Leave a Reply

