RSS Feed

Hemma igen

Today has been a strange day.

As you all know, I’m back in the UK. I arrived on Monday in Reading, and then have since made my way down to Cornwall. Yesterday I met up with a very old friend I haven’t seen in a few years, and had a nice time. We had lunch-ish/fika at a little cafe in Truro and put the world to rights, as well as discussing our increasing irritation with the world. It had been far too long.

Today however has been a bit sad. My sister’s dog has been ill for most of the last week and today lost her fight. It was also my sister’s daughter’s birthday, as well as my older brother’s, and so the day has felt somewhat odd, punctuated by teary-eyed visits and frantic phone-calls. We finished putting up the Christmas decorations in my house today as well, and so the house looks cheery, even if my cheer has been somewhat dampened again. Perhaps it can be reignited by visiting friends the next few days. I certainly hope so.

However, on a more positive note, I’ve accepted my university places and will be back in Sweden in Mid-January for another crack at it all. People have already begun asking me what made me accept, and I think i can pinpoint it to one moment on Tuesday, whilst I was wandering around Reading: I’ve gotten so used to not understanding everything that my brain instantly reaches for any English phrases I understand. Trouble is, that this resulted in an overload on Tuesday. I literally was unable to concentrate on anything.

And then I found it: Mecca, Heaven, Nirvana – call it what you will. I found the one place in Reading where I could shelter from the english and find myself amongst the familiarity of advent stars and useful stuff… that’s right. Reverse culture shock sent me to Clas Ohlson for a bit of sanity. I’m not even joking. I lasted less than 48 hours in the UK before I started missing Sweden.

I had a similar reaction on going into the big Tesco in Redruth as well yesterday: too much English, too many things missing, a pang of  excitement when I found the Arla symbol on Flora butter ( Arla butter is called flora here – we discussed this when I moved to Sweden first off!) It felt very odd.

Also, bizarrely enough, whilst when i was in sweden I measured prices in Pounds, here I’ve started translating to Krona. I’m not sure why. I think that might also be part of this culture shock/readjustment thing. It’s definitely strange though. Hopefully it’ll improve.

Now, now that I’ve signed up well and truly for my University courses, I’ve just got to wait for the messages to come through. I hope they don’t want me there before the 17th January, as it’s not happening!

Within the next few days I’ll try to post up some stuff about English Christmas, because it’s nice to contrast things. I’m going to attempt to make some knäck too, so keep your eyes peeled for my family’s verdict on that, however, I’ve got a very busy few days coming up, so please – keep your eyes peeled and your ear to the ground. I’ll blog when there’s a moment free!

Related articles

About Lady Octavia

I'm Charlie I spent a year living in Sweden and I'm now a full time librarian in a primary school in the UK. In my spare time I sew and I bake.

3 responses »

  1. Wow, fantastic! What are you going to study?

    Reply
  2. Viking and Medieval Scandinavian history, and Western colonialism and imperialism 🙂

    Reply
  3. Very cool! I am so excited to read about your classes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

