RSS Feed

Drottningen av köket

The last couple of days I’ve been doing a lot of cookery. I’ve also been doing a good bit of crafting, but that’s for another blogpost!

P1000559Yesterday I made some mixed berry muffins with the leftover berries in the freezer – they contain a mix of blueberries, blackcurrants and red currants, and the muffin mix looked ( I kid you not) like it was made from unicorns, or at the very least as if it was created by Barbie. The different coloured berries naturally changed the colour of the mix so it looked like a pinkish-purple marble cake. Wonderful!

In fact, I had a lot of fun making these. I realised afterwards that I only used one egg instead of the usual two to make the mix, which explains the heavier than usual mix that I put into the tray, but once they were baked they all seemed perfectly fine, which is great!finished muffins

I mostly made them because Emil’s mum and little brother were coming over yesterday, which was fun – we don’t have visitors all that often so it was great to be able to make something for them to eat when they arrived. Luckily both of them seemed to really like them and had two each! However – the mix which was meant to only make twelve made a grand total of TWENTY cakes. I only have standard bun-papers so I guess when it said makes 12 it meant twelve of the enormous muffins that I find too large to eat!

Anyhow, after yesterday’s baking I realised that Emil had eaten the last of my homemade tomato soup. My soup initially started out as an attempt to make a cheaper version of the Knorr bags of soup that for a while were a considerable portion of my diet. Unfortunately I don’t have a photograph of this one, but my soup consists of chopped tomatoes, basil, thyme, onion, and red pepper, with a little salt and pepper to season. It’s wonderful with freshly baked bread, which brings us on to tonight’s final baking stint:

P1000571I made cheese and tomato rolls. At the time of writing, they have just come out of the oven and are cooling on the rack, but I only have photographs of them in the oven. These rolls contain a spoon of tomato puree as well as some mixed herbs in the bread, and an oil, tomato puree and herb mix on top, with cheese added to the top as well just for added flavour. When i was working at the school, these formed almost every day’s lunch, as they were really filling and tasty enough on their own without the need to add anything into them as a filling. They almost taste like a simple margherita pizza as you eat them, and usually end up so very soft and fluffy inside that it’s wonderful to taste them.

Coincidentally, I have discovered that my oven is MUCH hotter than it says on the outside. For example, I cooked these at almost 80 degrees lower than my recipe says (recipe is my own based on my old oven) and yet they were still finished in only 2/3rds of the time it usually takes to cook them. I had the same problem last time i cooked bread. Hmm.

Whilst my next task is to dip pepparkakor in chocolate (we had some incredibly more-ish chocolate-covered pepparkakor at Emil’s mum’s house a few weeks back) I think after that I might have to consider baking some cookies or perhaps even making some other form of cake. Whilst Emil has people to eat it I might as well bake! The thing is that whilst I love baking, I normally only bake as stress relief and most of the time I only really want one slice or piece of whatever I’ve made and then I’m happy to let others have the rest. I only eat *all* of it myself if absolutely necessary! This made me relatively popular at Uni as I would post up a message on facebook when I’d done baking and people would appear to gladly help out with the eating of my cake!

On a side note, the weather tonight is absolutely awful. The wind is howling through the tramlines and over the top of the houses on our block like a kid blowing over milk bottle tops and it’s making a dreadful noise. It doesn’t help that the lights keep dimming either – not fun when you’re home alone! Apparently it’s sleeting outside too. Not fun!

 

 

About Lady Octavia

I'm Charlie I spent a year living in Sweden and I'm now a full time librarian in a primary school in the UK. In my spare time I have an allotment, I sew and I bake.

Leave a Reply

