RSS Feed

En dag ut!

I’ve started Geocaching. It’s a lot of fun! I’ve already found a few of them around town (chiefly the one just down the road from me and one over at Eriksbergtorget). It’s a lot of fun.

Anyhow, today, Emil and I went to Saltholmen, because I wanted to visit the sea. As a cornish girl, I have always felt more at home around salt water and waves. Here in Sweden, waves are a bit of a rarity: there were only ripples on the water really because it was blowing a hoolie outside.  There were a couple of Geocaches around that I knew existed, but we didn’t manage to get to any of them in the end. We took a ferry out to one of the islands but had to come back straight away on the same ferry because we realised it was two hours before the next one back and we’d be late for Emil’s gaming night with one of his friends. On the ferry we had a fika and chattered a bit, which was really nice.

After this, we took  the tram back to Domkyrkan before walking to the Goteborg Museum. Now, I’ve been wanting to do the museum for at least the last two months, so i was very excited that we got to go to it. They have a viking boat! a real one! And they have a lot of old church carvings from pre-1300: the sorts of thing that in the UK were destroyed in the reformation. They also had some beautiful examples of victorian clothes, and elizabethan ones, and an old printing press, and a few other gorgeous items that made m very happy. I love doing history stuff!

 

 

About Lady Octavia

I'm Charlie I spent a year living in Sweden and I'm now a full time librarian in a primary school in the UK. In my spare time I have an allotment, I sew and I bake.

Leave a Reply

