RSS Feed

Sverige är roligt

Today I bring you a list of some of the strangest things I have seen in Sweden so far. Some aren’t actually that high on the strange-list, but some are downright bizarre. So here we go – in no particular order:

1) Bacon cheese

img_5197

You heard that right. Bacon cheese. It’s soft cheese with bacon in it. In a toothpaste tube. Not even joking.
Actually, I must admit, bacon cheese tastes quite nice really. Like the sauce in between the two burgers with the bacon double cheeseburger at Burger King. It tastes like it shouldn’t taste quite so nice as it does, but seriously – it’s worth a try.

Bacon Cheese isn’t the only strange variant: try Smoked Reindeer cheese, ham cheese, prawn cheese or even ( if you’re feeling adventurous) chicken and bacon cheese with tarragon (the swedish word for which is dragon)

 

2)Public Cycle Pumps

You heard me: public cycle pumps alongside the cycle lanes that snake all the way across this city. Cycle lanes that, I might add, have lanes within themselves. Occasionally there are cycle lanes that aren’t really marked as such, they just look like slightly different bits of a very wide path.

I didn’t even notice these until Emil showed them to me though, I must admit. There do seem to be a lot of cyclists in the city, and this city does have ‘Boris Bikes’ as I’d call them – you know – the bikes for hire like in London. Yeah – them.

 

3) Snus

English: Portioned snus by the brand General

Snus is the Swedes’ preferred way of consuming nicotine. Basically, it’s stuff you stuff under your top lip and it sends your top lip paralysed if you use it a lot, so you can tell if people use snus from their constant weird expression. The EU is trying to ban it at the moment from what I hear.

 

 

 

4) Nyponsoppa

nyponsoppa

Nyponsoppa is confusing. It’s sort of a rose hip soup, but you can make it up from granules and Emil loves it. I haven’t actually tried it yet, but to me it sounds odd.
There are other fruit soup-things that I have seen in the supermarket too: they’re thicker than juices and they just seem bizarre to me, I must admit!

 

 

5) Liquorice in Haribo

Español: regaliz de Haribo

In Sweden, Haribo multipacks also contain some with liquorice in them. It’s really bizarre, as I have never seen liquorice Haribo. I also find it odd that the liquorice aisle is usually roughly the same size as the chocolate aisle. It’s not at all right, you know.

About Lady Octavia

I'm Charlie I spent a year living in Sweden and I'm now a full time librarian in a primary school in the UK. In my spare time I sew and I bake.

3 responses »

  1. Mmmm, bacon cheese! I have Norweigan friends who use Snus too, much more social than smoking 🙂 glad you’re finding so much cool stuffs! xxxx

    Reply
  2. I can’t eat anything from a tube. It’s mostly gross, like the kaviars and measmor. I have wanted to try the bacon ost though. You should try nyponsoppa. I drink it like it’s juice. I was surprised at how mild of a taste it has for something so thick. It’s one of my favorite drinks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

