RSS Feed

inte så intressant

I’ve been a bit boring the last few days. Yesterday I did my usual Wednesday visit to Café Overlock and drank tea and ate kladdkaka. It was delicious. I also sent off my evidence of being European for university, so hopefully I shall be allowed to go to uni in Sweden next term *is excited*. The deadline for them to get the information is the 29th, so hopefully they now know I’m from europe so I won’t have to pay the application fee. Next stop: photocopying the world’s supply of certificates in my arsenal to persuade them I’m of relatively high intellect, something which occasionally I don’t believe myself!

20131021_170658My Sewing machine is also now working. She has been named Clara, and she’s beautiful: a very old Husqvarna but a good one. The sound she makes is delightful: somewhere between a clattery, chattery noise and the sound of Edward Scissorhands and other of Tim Burton’s creatures plotting strange adventures. Seriously, it’s a wonderfully bizarre noise. Emil had to replace one of her power cables because it wasn’t earthed and the plug wouldn’t fit in the earthed sockets in the wall ( it occurs to me that European power cables are very strange in comparison to British ones.)

I’ve also discovered that Clara has come with a plethora of feet that I don’t recognise entirely. I’ve identified what look to be six hemming feet so far, and a load of really bizarre extra ones that don’t make sense at all, as well as some button hole-ers that don’t look quite right. I may need to do a bit of digging to find out what they are. Either way, I have a sewing machine of sorts, and I can do stuff with her. She works. Let’s just hope that she works well enough to make clothes on!

I also came up with an idea based around poodle skirts and geekery yesterday. More info when I’ve got that project underway!

Other than the above, I’ve been applying for jobs, keeping an eye on the Gothenburg Steampunk group and generally being boring. This afternoon I need to visit the English Shop and buy some evap. milk. I also need to go in search of a pair of sewing scissors, because mine are in the UK and are thus not really going to help me make my skirt! I don’t want to use the kitchen scissors as they’ll either be too blunt or I’ll blunt them too much with my fabric. Such is the life.

Oh! and I’ve been practicing Swedish a bit. It’s interesting.

 

 

About Lady Octavia

I'm Charlie I spent a year living in Sweden and I'm now a full time librarian in a primary school in the UK. In my spare time I have an allotment, I sew and I bake.

Leave a Reply

