RSS Feed

de goda och de dåliga

So I’ve had a pretty good day, played some guild wars and went to see the people at Café Overlock again. I absolutely love it there,it makes me smile and everyone’s so friendly. Yesterday was quite good to as I went to Eriksberg and sat on the pier reading for a bit, which calmed me down no end.

Unfortunately though, the ugly problem of my lack of job and lack of government-suitable reasons to be here has reared its head again. I still don’t have a job, and whilst I’ve applied for university courses so I can stay and study and stuff, the forms might not be back in time. At least if I’m studying I can get away with going on my EHIC. I had another look at all the other details for immigration too, and it’s not looking too great. If someone could give me a full-time job with a 6 month contract that would set me up fine and dandy. Please?

Trouble is, the forms regarding being an EU citizen are very confusing. You can be in Sweden less than 3 months and that’s fine, and if you’re looking for a job, it looks like you pretty much don’t need to fill in a form for 6 months, but that’s very very confusing. Some places say more than others, and it’s very hard to piece it all together in a way that makes any sense. It’s also really depressing as I hate filling in forms! Gah!

Ho hum.  I’m sure it’ll all work out fine in the end. After all  – what’s the worse that can happen? If I screw up I guess they can fine me and send me back to the UK?

I believe it’s time to play Guild Wars and sing Hakuna Matata, and hope that life decides to be nicer!

(note: I’m actually really loving living in Sweden. It’s not really homesickness that I’m suffering from these days – it’s more just general annoyance with forms, job-hunting and the confusion that is bureaucracy in both the UK and Sweden (as well as the rest of the EU). Sweden is wonderful, and beautiful ,and full of some very shiney things and people. I AM enjoying it here, and there’s a lot of good stuff about this place. It’s just that sometimes the logistics are a bit – well – confusing and complex!)

 

About Lady Octavia

I'm Charlie I spent a year living in Sweden and I'm now a full time librarian in a primary school in the UK. In my spare time I have an allotment, I sew and I bake.

Leave a Reply

