RSS Feed

Steampunk Konventet i Alingsås

So, I just spent the whole weekend in Alingsås for a steampunk convention. And it was AMAZING.

First off, I would love to say a huge thank you to anyone who switched to English and had discussions with me without batting an eyelid, and who translated conversations we were listening to. Equal thanks to the people who asked me whether I was ok with them speaking Swedish and who put up with my (occasionally slightly strange) responses to them when I hadn’t quite understood as well as I thought I had. I met so many wonderful people this weekend, including a huge number of people from Göteborg, which means I now know people in my own town! Yaaay!

Not only did I meet lots of Göteborg people, but I discovered that Steampunks seem to overlap with the Doctor Who fans, which is hardly surprising, but is still wonderful as I had some brilliant conversations with people when I made obscure references and they understood them. Fantastic!

(also to note sci fi bokhandeln in Gothenburg has a TARDIS lift. When you go in it it makes the tardis noise. its amazing)

As such, I’m currently in the process of putting together a Facebook group for people interested in Steampunk in the Gothenburg region. We’re going to have meetups (read: fika) and do projects together and organise events and stuff. It’ll be amazing! We’ll paint the town clockwork!

I know this is a slightly more gushy and less informative post than usual, and a little lacking in photos. I’ll do a full-scale post later, perhaps.

Oh! Our talk on International Steampunk went really well as well, and I was pleased with it 🙂

Soon we shall take over the world!

About Lady Octavia

I'm Charlie I spent a year living in Sweden and I'm now a full time librarian in a primary school in the UK. In my spare time I have an allotment, I sew and I bake.

2 responses »

  1. Surely by ‘paint the town clockwork’ you mean stick cogs on it?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

