RSS Feed

hemsjuk

Emil’s gone to bed: he has work ridiculously early in the morning. I’m curled up on our 3-seater sofa, the place which has become my favourite spot in the flat.

And I feel so lonely and homesick it’s unbelievable. There don’t seem to be any jobs that I can do here, and I haven’t met anyone of my own to make friends with. I’m proud of the fact that I’ve managed things like topping up my vasttraffik card in swedish without help, and that I made it to Partille on my own today, but it’s very frustrating. I feel like I’m ten years old again and going out to town on my own for the very first time. I’ve always loved being independent, and it’s really quite difficult going from total independence right back to needing help to read the basics in the supermarket.

And I’m not feeling very well either. Funny stomach and the beginnings of a cold and just generally feel really ugh! It’s awful! I think it’s making me feel worse. I’m meant to be volunteering over the weekend in a kitchen for a camp – I can’t do that if I’m ill!

To be fair, I suffered from homesickness when I went to Uni too, and it passed, and I felt better eventually, but I made so many friends instantly there, and so many of them are brilliant and I miss them very much ( hello Uni-people…. you know who you are). I guess I just feel a long way from home today.

I really hope I haven’t made a very expensive mistake by moving here. I love Emil with all my heart, and his family have been wonderful so far, but at the same time, it feels a bit lonely here.I need to go and make friends with people and *do* stuff… so far my time has been spent as a house-girlfriend waay too much.

 

About Lady Octavia

I'm Charlie I spent a year living in Sweden and I'm now a full time librarian in a primary school in the UK. In my spare time I sew and I bake.

One response »

  1. Aw I know how you feel. I haven’t really gotten hit by home sickness yet but I do miss being in familiar territory and being able to find what I want in shops.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

