RSS Feed

Torkskåp

torkskåp = airing cupboard

Sunday night was my first night in my new bed and by the gods it’s so comfortable and absolutely massive. basically, the bedroom is just under 2 metres wide. If we bought a smaller bed, we would either have to get a head-board and put the bed lengthways down the room, losing the balcony. So we did the sensible thing: we bought a 180 x 200cm bed, and are sleeping on it sideways. That’s right: sideways.  This means our bed is 2 metres wide and the same length as a UK bed (Emil’s feet poke out at the bottom if he lies straight but he never sleeps like that anyway). It also means we get to keep the balcony. It’s kinda a ridiculously huge bed, but it also means there’s more than enough space to just spread out! If I have to return to the UK and squeezing ourselves into tiny little beds I will cry. No word of a lie. I will also fall out of it!

An electric airing cupboard

An electric airing cupboard

Yesterday was washing day. We’d booked the afternoon slot in the laundry room downstairs with our little laundry key ( there’s a big board with holes, you put your lock in a hole to book the slot) so I could use Emil as a human translator as he’d be home from work.

I discovered that it takes *forever* for the dryer to dry, but I also discovered the existence of electric airing cupboards. This might sound strange but imagine a large upright freezer, with hanging rods in it. Basically, it heats up and dries the clothes inside. Sensible, but strange! At home we always had a cupboard where the boiler was which we used to dry out clothes which were a bit damp. It never occurred to me that there was an electric cupboard version!

Emil seemed confused by my mild amazement at the existence of such things:

‘well of course we have them: you need them in winter for when kids go out playing in the snow and their clothes get all wet’

Makes sense. It just seems like an invention that the UK could do with to dry off all that rain!!!

About Lady Octavia

I'm Charlie I spent a year living in Sweden and I'm now a full time librarian in a primary school in the UK. In my spare time I have an allotment, I sew and I bake.

2 responses »

  1. Glad you’re enjoying it! It’s funny going to other countries & wondering how/why they got all the good stuff!

    Reply
  2. I didn’t realise you could actually buy them for your house – the kids have them at school, and I always thought they were ace! I hope you are not feeling as homesick as you did in the first few days/weeks 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

