RSS Feed

En besökare från Sverige

The Emil has been here for a visit for the last week. It was wonderful to have him here to stay, and very exciting because we have now marked it down to just one month until I move to Sweden! We had quite a few conversations in half-Swedish, which was encouraging, because whenever he didn’t understand what i said, it was usually because he wasn’t expecting me to say what i did, and so thought i was saying it wrong ( only to realise when i switched to English) that I was totally right ^^.

English: Inside the Humid Tropics Biome at the...

At any rate, we visited some lovely places this week to make the most of his time down in sunny Cornwall. Originally we were planning to visit The Eden Project but due to extreme laziness and the expense we ended up putting it off until another occasion.

English: Sunset at Portreath

English: Sunset at Portreath (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Our destinations instead began on Thursday afternoon with the beach at Portreath, where we jumped waves like I have since my early childhood, and laughed until we were blue in the face (although admittedly the blue may have been due to the cold of the North Atlantic creeping into our veins). I must admit that this is one of my favourite things to do, so the chance to do this with Emil on a Cornish beach really made me smile. He was understandably slightly nervous of the Atlantic, used as he is to the timid calm of the Archipelago around Tjörn

English: An image of Hall for Cornwall, Truro,...

We then continued on Friday by visiting Truro, the county capital and my favourite local haunt for a bit of shopping and a lovely cream tea at the Hall For Cornwall. This was a lot of fun, as whilst I learnt that it is almost impossible to get hold of a decent pattern for any form of men’s clothing, I also learnt that Hall for Cornwall’s Cream tea is wonderful, provided you can get the wasps and the seagulls to leave you alone ( although that issue is the same everywhere, I suppose). We topped off the day with a visit to the ever-lovely Victoria Gardens near the station, which have always been one of the loveliest and best-kept secrets of Truro.

Rally steam engines

Saturday was taken up by a visit to Stithians’ showgrounds to see the Steam and Country Fair, which is an annual event where one can go and see loads of vintage cars, tractors, buses and above all, traction engines and steam locomotives. I grew up watching vintage steam rollers and traction engines going up my road as there was an enthusiast who lived near by, but I’m not sure how common it is elsewhere to see so many beautiful machines moving around and puffing steam and smoke through their pipes. Unfortunately, we got absolutely soaked on our visit, but it was a wonderful day out nonetheless. I think there had been more of the engines on the Friday than on the Saturday when we went, but still – we certainly enjoyed ourselves, even if we looked drowned by the time we left!

English: Cyclists at Mount's Bay The sea wall ...

And to top if off, yesterday we visited the ever-popular Penzance and took a stroll across the bay to look at the beautiful St Micheal’s Mount. Initially, the idea was to actually go up the mount to the castle and look at the stuff there, but unfortunately time, tide and public transport got the better of us, so we just satisfied ourselves with paddling our toes in the high-tide waters. The sea was unusually calm and looked just as beautiful as it does in the photo from Wikipedia to the right. It was a lovely last day, and I really enjoyed it – as, I believe, did the Emil. It was topped off by us receiving our contract for our flat via email late yesterday evening, which just about put the icing on the cake.

This morning began bleary-eyed and early at 6am, at which we said goodbye until September, when my final journey to Sweden begins and we shall move into our new home – exciting or what?! Emil has taken a large case containing the fundamentals of my winter wardrobe with him ( and my TARDIS teapot – can’t leave that behind!) so I guess the journey has half begun: Operation: Invading Sverige is go!

 

About Lady Octavia

I'm Charlie I spent a year living in Sweden and I'm now a full time librarian in a primary school in the UK. In my spare time I have an allotment, I sew and I bake.

Leave a Reply

