RSS Feed

A midsommar in Göteborg

A beautiful set of photos of Midsommar in Gothenburg

Me and my pack.

My train arrived late in the afternoon, and so I had missed much of the day’s earlier festivities such as the dance around the midsommarstång (a maypole in Engish). By the time I got out to Slottsskogen to see what a Swedish midsommar was all about, it had started to rain and many of the picnickers were packing up to leave. Some of the more resilient among them remained with their miniature barbecues, and others to dance by the music tent. Many still wore the crowns of flowers, while others had cast them aside. I had expected some sort of public celebrations as the evening progressed, but it seemed that most locals had retreated to the balconies of their apartments to spend time with their friends and family. Perhaps it was just the rain that put the damper on things.

The next day was much like the previous evening, with most…

View original post 146 more words

About Lady Octavia

I'm Charlie I spent a year living in Sweden and I'm now a full time librarian in a primary school in the UK. In my spare time I have an allotment, I sew and I bake.

Leave a Reply

