RSS Feed

en hektisk dag med min symaskin

Posted on

Today my sewing machine started an adventure.

Yes. That’s right. My sewing machine.

Let me explain. My sewing machine is called Naomi. She’s a Singer 160 (see left), and she was bought with my first pay-packet from my first proper job, and is my pride and joy. I love her to bits. It’s kinda a tradition in my family: my mum bought an old singer with her

first ever pay-packet and named it Katie. Naomi is beautiful, she’s a total marvel, and I love her to bits. I create all sorts on her, including most of my clothes for work.

Today I took her from her lovely shelf where she sits pride of place, packed her up with my most important sewing items (all 11kg of her),tied her in ropes to make her a harness and took her (by bus and train) to Swindon, to meet one of my best friends. Said best friend is going to transport my Naomi to my parents’ house, from where I shall find some method of transporting my baby to Sweden, where I shall happily use her to take over the world, or at the very least, Etsy.

 

Today also involved a hefty amount of nattering in Costa Coffee over a cup of coffee and a slice of vanilla and blueberry cake, which was incredibly satisfying.

 

Once I had returned home, the process of packing my entire life into two cases and a large backpack began. Needless to say these cases are *really* heavy, but at least I’ll be able to get them to my parents’ house quite easily, with the Emil’s help, when I visit them at half term (5 days to go!) Seeing as this works as effectively a rehearsal for the move to Sweden, it’s quite a big thing!

Oh, and I’ve spent the last few days speaking mostly Swedish to Emil. Not all of it is *correct* Swedish, and some of it is quite badly bungled, but it’s all at least vaguely intelligible, if a little stilted. Either way, my big target is to be able to have a conversation with Emil’s epic Grandad without having to get Emil to translate. When I first met him, I could understand about half of what he was saying, and he could understand the gist of what I said in English too, but we needed Emil to translate the bulk of the conversation. That was a huge shame, because we share a few bizarre common interests ( Industrial Chemistry with a focus on steel-working and World War II), and it’d be fantastic to chatter to him a bit more about them. Also, he lives in the most beautiful house in the world on a lovely little island.

Furthermore, I’ve started an online TEFL course. It’s probably not really going to be of any use to me, but I thought I might just as well get *some* form of teaching qualification. It can’ really hurt!

 

About Lady Octavia

I'm Charlie I spent a year living in Sweden and I'm now a full time librarian in a primary school in the UK. In my spare time I sew and I bake.

Leave a Reply

