RSS Feed

Allt jag vill göra i Sverige

Posted on

It is a truth universally acknowledged that the internet is full of bandwagons. One of the big ones a few years ago was the concept of the Bucket List: a list of things a person wanted to do before they ‘kicked they bucket’. Naturally, as a teenager at the time that this was popular, I started thinking about my own demise and came up with a few ideas of things I really wanted to do.

Most of them were pretty standard teen fare: fall in love, go to university, buy the latest MP3 player, yatta yatta yatta. Teenagers are pretty universal in the sorts of things they think are important. Seriously, there’s a reason why my livejournal is no longer.

However, the idea stayed with me, and there’s a short but relatively sweet list of things I would really like to do in my time in Sweden. I’m guessing that this list will change and adapt throughout the time that I’m actually there, but hey – it’s a starting point!

So: without any further ado:

5 things I’d love to do in Sweden

1.See the Northern Lights 

Northern lights

Northern lights (Photo credit: Moyan_Brenn)

This is the only thing from my original bucket list that actually applies to Sweden at all. I’ve wanted to see the Northern Lights since I was about 11 years old and was given ‘His Dark Materials’ for Christmas by my parents. I love star-gazing, and when I can’t sleep I often end up curled up by the window staring at the sky, and the only thing I can think of that would be better would be to see the Aurora. The whole idea fascinates me.
2.Visit the Ice Hotel

The Ice hotel is only open in the winter (for obvious reasons), and looks like a fascinating place to visit. It’s rebuilt every year and is almost always larger and more impressive than the year before from all accounts. I want to see this amazing place.
3.Stockholm

The reason why Stockholm makes this list is a slightly bizarre one, and has actually got very little to do with the city itself.

I saw a play in sixth form which was called Stockholm, and it is difficult to explain just how much of an impression that play made. The play had very little to do with the actual place: it was a physical theatre piece, and about the fine line between love and… well – Stockholm syndrome in relationships. The characters were both going to visit Stockholm in the play, and were really excited about it. I remember honestly having no idea why they would want to visit Sweden at all, and what the fuss was about.

In a strange turn of events, I’ve had bizarre relationships in the past which came too close to ‘Stockholm’ for comfort, and it seems ironically amusing to me to visit Stockholm itself now that I’m in a better place, just because seems somehow mildly ironic.

4.See a St Lucy’s Day parade

Yes, this is another slightly bizarre one. The first thing I can remember ever finding out about Sweden was this whole thing of girls dressing up in white dresses and running around with candles on their heads. It was in an encyclopedia I read when I was maybe five years old? It still seems an incredibly bizarre idea, and I’d like to witness it, just to say I have.
5.Stroke a Reindeer

This is mostly an in-joke, but basically my nieces and nephews think I’m a horrific human being because I have eaten reindeer and moose stew before. I think they think I killed it with my bare hands.

Either way, I want a photo of me stroking a reindeer, and it’s almost definitely going to be captioned ‘Me and my dinner’ just because the reaction would be hilarious. Absolutely hilarious.

About Lady Octavia

I'm Charlie I spent a year living in Sweden and I'm now a full time librarian in a primary school in the UK. In my spare time I sew and I bake.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Ovikentröjan på gång | stannaupp

Leave a Reply

