RSS Feed

Steampunk i Sverige

One of the things I’m really looking forward to being involved in when I move to Sweden is the emerging Steampunk scene. The internet is full of  explanations of Steampunk and what it is, but I’ve found that for me the closest description seems to be ‘Victorians with laptops and new rocks.’ I won’t patronise you with any explanation other than that: if you’re interested in the idea – google it! Just don’t let anyone tell you that something *isn’t* steampunk. Anyway, I’m quite heavily involved in Steampunk in the UK, I’ve been to Asylum once already and am hoping to attend again this September (and hopefully every year even whilst I’m living in Sverige). In the UK it has become quite a big thing, particularly with Asylum and the various other events put on by the British VSS, who are the main co-ordinating force in the UK.

In Sweden, the community seems to be much younger and only just emerging really. To my knowledge, not many big events have been held so far over there, but this is all about to change: in October, Alingsås is  holding the Steampunk-konvent. And me and the Emil have tickets. And we might be getting involved in running workshops and other interesting things. And I am *incredibly* excited by this thought. Not only will I get to meet an amazing variety of people interested in similar things to me, but I might get the chance to give something back and build up a new part of a community that nurtures the good, the well-mannered and the creative in people.  Steampunk is something that is a force for good, and is very much geared towards re-purposing and the reuse of items rather than the mindless consumerism that plagues the globe these days.  And I’m going to be a part of it!

Now, I just have to work out what on earth I’m going to talk about!

 

About Lady Octavia

I'm Charlie I spent a year living in Sweden and I'm now a full time librarian in a primary school in the UK. In my spare time I sew and I bake.

Leave a Reply

