RSS Feed

Vincent Vicious – Tom Sawyer

About a year ago, my boyfriend made me listen to this song. It’s exactly the sort of thing I love to listen to, acoustic, folky, and slightly whimsical and nostalgic. I loved it, and thought it was really pretty. I had absolutely no idea what the lyrics were about back then, and it was incredibly frustrating every time I got it stuck in my head, because I didn’t have a clue where each word began and ended, let alone what they meant!

Now, I know quite a lot more. I eventually made him write all of the words out for me in Swedish, with an English translation alongside it so that I could understand it. I think I loved it even more once I knew what it meant. Of course, I still ended up with the song stuck in my head, and so I think that was when I started to learn little bits of Swedish, mostly so that I could sing it when it got stuck in my head.

Basically, this is a song about a group of them taking a shortcut up to a multi-story car park in the summer, in the evening to find the door locked, so they then climbed up onto the top of it, and drank loads of beer, and generally felt on top of the world. It then goes on to be about nostalgia and other related things, but generally, it’s just a very pretty song :).

 

About Lady Octavia

I'm Charlie I spent a year living in Sweden and I'm now a full time librarian in a primary school in the UK. In my spare time I have an allotment, I sew and I bake.

Leave a Reply

