RSS Feed

Översyn min Svenska

I have spent the last two days attempting to revise my Swedish by getting a notebook and writing down every word I can think of that I know in Swedish. Interestingly enough, after an hour or two I had about two hundred words and their translations written down, and the words were still coming thick and fast. Evidently my vocabulary is coming along pretty well… I just need to know how to put all the words together: it’s all well and good knowing your ‘sil’ from your ‘sill’*, but it’s going to be much more useful when rather than being able to translate a page into English, I can actually write something of my own using all of the random stuff that I already know.

This is why, tomorrow, at break-time, I’m going to be sat writing a story or three for my lovely boyfriend to mark and to grade me on. He’ll enjoy watching as I butcher his language in previously unheard of ways, I’m sure! After all, marking questionable grammar is what I do every day – who wouldn’t enjoy it!

Right…?

(* Sil is the Swedish word for sieve, said ‘SEAL’. ‘Sill’, said ‘SILL’, is the Swedish word for herring. It’s important to know the difference.)

(EDIT: yes, I got the pronunciation the wrong way around when I wrote this first time. Doh!)

About Lady Octavia

I'm Charlie I spent a year living in Sweden and I'm now a full time librarian in a primary school in the UK. In my spare time I have an allotment, I sew and I bake.

Leave a Reply

